Les documents des Archives des TNO

Archives gouvernementales

Les archives gouvernementales des TNO mettent en lumière les pratiques et les politiques institutionnelles, constituent des preuves des activités passées et permettent aux citoyens de demander des comptes au gouvernement pour des décisions passées.

Nos archives gouvernementales les plus anciennes datent de 1888. Nous disposons aussi de documents provenant du Conseil territorial, de la période entre 1921 et 1951, et la Commission Carrothers.

De 1923 à 1971, la Direction de régions septentrionales, une division d’Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, a également joué un rôle important dans la gouvernance des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Les Archives des TNO couvrent 44 mètres de documents textuels qui ont été créés et accumulés par la Direction et ses prédécesseurs entre 1923 et 1971. La plupart des dossiers datent d’entre 1949 et 1967 et comprennent de la correspondance, des rapports, des statistiques de l’état civil, des données financières et des procès-verbaux.

En 1967, les bureaux administratifs ont déménagé d’Ottawa à la nouvelle capitale de Yellowknife, délocalisant de cette manière certaines instances gouvernementales vers les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Ainsi fut fondé le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Depuis lors, les Archives des TNO ont régulièrement récupéré des dossiers produits par les ministères du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le personnel des Archives des TNO veille à ce que ces documents soient mis à la disposition du public, même s’il existe toujours un décalage entre le moment où ces documents sont créés et celui où ils sont réceptionnés aux archives. Par conséquent, les documents d’origine relativement récente sont généralement sous la garde des ministères qui en sont les auteurs. Veuillez noter que l’accès aux archives gouvernementales est régi par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel des archives.

Documents de donateurs privés

En plus des documents gouvernementaux, les Archives des TNO font l’acquisition de documents créés par des particuliers et des organismes des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, qui illustrent la vie quotidienne et les activités des citoyens des TNO. Parmi les organismes donateurs, citons la ville de Yellowknife, la ville de Hay River, et des particuliers tels que le politicien et homme d’affaires Robert (Bobbie) Porritt, l’ancienne enseignante Mary Saich ou les anciens commissaires des TNO, John Parker et Stuart Hodgson. Nous conservons aussi les documents des entreprises comme la mine Giant et de la Chambre des mines des TNO. Les activités des syndicats sont bien représentées grâce aux documents fournis par le Syndicat des travailleurs du Nord et le syndicat des Travailleurs canadiens de l’automobile. Nous possédons également des documents fournis par les organisations comme le Conseil scolaire communautaire de Fort Resolution ou le Conseil pour les personnes handicapées.

Les archivistes s’efforcent de se procurer des documents provenant de sources privées afin d’illustrer au mieux la multiplicité des cultures et des contextes socioéconomiques aux TNO. Les Archives des TNO renferment aussi des documents provenant de nombreux organismes privés aux secteurs d’activité variés (éducation, culture, loisirs).

Photographies

Notre collection comprend environ 350 000 photos. Même si ces photos ont été prises entre le début du XXe siècle et les années 1990, la plupart datent d’entre 1930 et 1980. Parmi nos collections les plus anciennes, nous avons la chance de posséder celles de Norman Robinson (1914-1924). Citons également le nom de l’évêque Archibald Fleming que nous comptons au sein de nos collections les plus prestigieuses des années 1930-1940. Les clichés pris par Henry Busse nous transmettent une image fidèle de Yellowknife dans les années 1950. Felix Labat, Robert C. Knight et June Helm nous donnent un autre aperçu des Territoires du Nord-Ouest pendant l’ère de changement des années 1950-1960. En outre, les clichés du photographe Gwich'in, James Jerome, nous offrent une perspective Dénée dans les années 1970. Les 15 000 photos prises par Rene Fumoleau à travers les TNO des années 1950-1990 constituent une excellente source d’information. Et cela ne représente qu’un petit échantillon des centaines de photographes dont nous avons recueilli les œuvres.

Films et vidéos

Sur les 4000 heures de vidéos que nous possédons, 1000 ont été filmées par le GTNO. En outre, nous disposons de nombreuses productions d’exception sur le Nord et les connaissances traditionnelles, ainsi que des émissions portant sur les principaux événements politiques et sociaux aux TNO. Par exemple, nous possédons 27 vidéos produites par le ministère du Développement économique et du Tourisme, intitulées Dene Arts and Crafts. Parmi les œuvres d’importance, mentionnons les films de René Fumoleau (Dene Nation and I Was Born Here), de Goldi Productions (They Fish the Great Slave et Dene Family) et d’Arthur Pape (The Inquiry, à propos de l’Enquête Berger).

Documents audio

Les enregistrements de récits oraux tiennent une grande place du fonds sur l’histoire des TNO. Les plus anciens enregistrements de récits oraux ont été effectués à Fort Good Hope et contiennent des chants dénés qui ont été enregistrés en 1957. Nous avons des centaines d'enregistrements du projet d'histoire orale du Comité d'étude des droits des autochtones (CEDA). Des universitaires tels que l’anthropologue June Helm et le personnel de la Société internationale de linguistique ont gracieusement fait don d’enregistrements réalisés pendant leurs recherches. En raison de la nature délicate du contenu de certains enregistrements de récits, il est possible que l’accès auxdits documents soit restreint.

Cartes

Notre fonds de cartes et de documents architecturaux n’est pas très étendu. Nous disposons de nombreuses cartes de colonies, d’une carte illustrant la « limite du district Mackenzie » lors de la proposition initiale de division des TNO dans les années 1960, de cartes du ministère de l’Intérieur datant d’avant 1930, de cartes liées à l’industrie minière (concessions), de levés topographiques réalisés par John Anderson Thompson, ainsi que de quelques cartes de navigation maritime. Nous possédons également quelques plans architecturaux, notamment les plans du pensionnat catholique Grollier Hall d’Inuvik, ainsi que des plans de villes (Hay River, Inuvik, Yellowknife).

The Records of the NWT Archives

Government Records

Records of the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) shed light on institutional practices and policies, provide evidence of past activities, document the constitutional development of the Northwest Territories, and allow citizens to hold the government accountable for past decisions.

Our governance records go as far back as 1888, when the NWT encompassed a larger area, including present-day Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon, the entirety of the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan, and portions of Manitoba, Québec, and Ontario. Other early holdings include records generated by the Territorial Council from 1921 to 1951 and records from the Carrothers Commission.

From 1923 to 1971 the Northern Administration Branch, a division of the federal Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, played a strong role in administering the Northwest Territories. The NWT Archives has 44 metres of textual records created and accumulated by the branch and its various predecessors from 1923 to 1971. The majority of files date between 1949 and 1967 and incorporate correspondence, reports, vital statistics information, financial data, and minutes.

In 1967, the administrative offices moved from Ottawa to the newly established capital city of Yellowknife, effectively transferring various governing powers to the Northwest Territories. As a result, the Government of the Northwest Territories was established. Since this date, the NWT Archives has acquired regular transfers of records generated by the departments of the Government of the Northwest Territories. The NWT Archives staff works to ensure these records are accessible to the public, but there is often a lag from the time records are created to when they are received by the archives. Consequently, records of relatively recent origin are typically in the custody of creating government departments. Please be advised that access to government records is governed by the Access to Information and Privacy Act. For more information contact archives staff.

Records from Private Donors

In addition to government records, the NWT Archives acquires records created by individuals and organizations in the Northwest Territories that shed light on the everyday life and activities of NWT citizens. These include organizations such as the City of Yellowknife, the Town of Hay River, and private citizens such as politician and businessman Robert (Bobbie) Porritt, former teacher Mary Saich, and former NWT Commissioners John Parker and Stuart Hodgson. We preserve records of businesses such as Giant Mine as well as the NWT Chamber of Mines. Activities of unions are well represented, with records from the Union of Northern Workers and the Canadian Auto Workers. Records from organizations such as the Fort Resolution Community Education Council and the NWT Council for the Disabled are in our holdings as well.

The archivists at the NWT Archives work to acquire materials from private sources that provide a rich representation of a multiplicity of cultures and socioeconomic backgrounds. The records of a wide variety of private organizations involved in a range of activities (e.g. educational, cultural, hobbyist) in the NWT have also been acquired by the NWT Archives.

Photographs

There are approximately 350,000 photographs in our collection. While our photographs date from the turn of the 20th century until the 2000s, most were created between 1950 and 1980. Some of our earliest collections include those of Norman Robinson (1914-1924). Significant collections from the 1930s and 1940s include Bishop Archibald Fleming. Images created by Henry Busse provide thorough coverage of Yellowknife during the 1950s. Felix Labat, Robert C. Knight, and June Helm provide a further glimpse of the Northwest Territories at a time of change during the 1950s and 1960s. The photographs of Gwich’in photographer James Jerome provide a view of life through a Dene lens in the 1970s. Rene Fumoleau’s 15,000 images taken throughout the territory from the 1950s through to the 1990s are an excellent source of information. This is just a very small sample of the hundreds of photographers represented in our collection.

Film and Video

A large portion of our film and video materials were created by the GNWT’s Radio and Television Services Division in the Department of Education, Culture and Employment. The NWT Archives also has film from professional and amateur filmmakers. There is a variety of unique productions about northern subjects and traditional knowledge, as well as coverage of major political and social events in the NWT. For example, there is a series of videos produced by the Department of Economic Development and Tourism entitled Dene Arts and Crafts. Other notable holdings include films by Rene Fumoleau (Dene Nation and I Was Born Here), Goldi Productions (They Fish the Great Slave and Dene Family), and Arthur Pape (The Inquiry, about the Berger Inquiry).

Audio

Oral history interviews play a significant part in the documentation of the history of the NWT, and often feature Aboriginal languages. Our earliest oral history recordings were made in Fort Good Hope and feature Dene chants recorded in 1957. We have hundreds of recordings from the Committee for Original Peoples’ Entitlement (COPE) oral history project. Academics such as anthropologist June Helm and the staff of the Summer Institute of Linguistics have also generously donated recordings created during their research. Due to the sensitive nature of the content of some oral history recordings, restrictions on access may apply.

Maps

Our holdings of maps and architectural records are not extensive. There are numerous settlement maps, a map outlining the “Mackenzie boundary” when it was first proposed to split the NWT in the 1960s, Department of Interior maps predating 1930, maps related to the mining industry (e.g. claims), survey maps by John Anderson Thompson, and a few marine navigational maps. Our holdings also contain a number of architectural plans, including plans for Inuvik Catholic student residence Grollier Hall, and site maps of towns and cities such as Hay River, Inuvik, and Yellowknife.

More Information

Please refer to our Documentation Framework for more information on the acquisition policy and objectives of the NWT Archives.